nastia liukin derek hough

Nastia Liukin lastest Olympian to compete on DWTS

Nastia Liukin will be the third U.S. Olympic champion gymnast to compete on “Dancing With the Stars,” joining the roster for the 20th season set to debut March 16.

The 2008 Olympic all-around champion, follows Beijing teammate Shawn Johnson, who won the show in its eighth season (and recently underwent knee surgery – get well soon Shawn).

Aly Raisman danced in season 16, following her double gold performance in London 2012.

The full DWTS cast announcement is here.

Liukin is paired up with beloved pro dancer Derek Hough, who is back this season after announcing he was leaving show. Hough, a five-time mirror ball champ and Emmy-winning choreographer, previously announced his “DWTS” departure to perform in the Radio City Spring Spectacular.

Liukin’s inclusion marks the 16th of 20 seasons that the show will include at least one Olympian. So far, four Olympians have won “Dancing With the Stars” — Meryl Davis, Apolo Ohno, Kristi Yamaguchi and Johnson.

Other Olympians to compete on the show include Lolo Jones, Hope Solo, Dorothy Hamill, Kristi Yamaguchi, Misty May-Treanor and Amy Purdy.

The list of season 20 celebrities and their pro partners follows:
Noah Galloway with Sharna Burgess
Robert Herjavec with Kym Johnson
Patti LaBelle with Artem Chigvintsev
Nastia Liukin with Derek Hough
Riker Lynch with Allison Holker
Charlotte McKinney with Keo Motsepe
RedFoo with Emma Slater
Michael Sam with Peta Murgatroyd
Willow Shields with Mark Ballas
Suzanne Somers with Tony Dovolani
Rumer Willis with Valentin Chmerkovskiy

Leave a Comment